Remove all “missing” files from a SVN working copy

After upgrading a local installation of WordPress subversion started complaining about missing files, that were deleted during the upgrade.

Since there were a lot of files I searched for an easy way to delete all the missing files at once, and found such a way here.

svn rm $( svn status | sed -e '/^!/!d' -e 's/^!//' )

One of the comments mentions that it doesn’t work with filenames that contains white space, which I haven’t tested.

 

About

Web Developer @ Oakwood Creative - www.oakwood.se

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Misc
5 comments on “Remove all “missing” files from a SVN working copy
  1. buithehoa says:

    Helpful tip, thanks.

  2. Dylan says:

    worked perfectly, thanks 🙂

  3. Santosh Singh says:

    Very cool command.Works perfect.

  4. Thank you! It works for me!
    I had rm some files thinking I could commit the deletion that way, only to realize that I couldn’t. This saved me a lot of time 🙂

  5. NICE DUDE! that helped me a lot! I have opened terminal and run this command on the folder of the project 🙂 NICE 😀

Leave a comment

About

WordPress Quick Tips is a blog supplying great tips about WordPress.

We hope to create a great knowledge resource for WordPress developers as well as serving a reminder for all the forgetful ones.

The blog is created and run by Vincent of Oakwood Creative

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 121 other subscribers